Social Network Named Best Picture PDF Print E-mail

“The Social Network,” David Fincher’s acclaimed drama about the development of the enormously popular social networking website Facebook, was the big winner with the Chicago Film Critics Association in their voting for their 22nd Annual Awards. The film won the top prize for Best Picture, David Fincher was awarded Best Director and screenwriter Aaron Sorkin was cited for Best Adapted Screenplay. Among the other films receiving multiple awards, the mind-bending thriller “Inception” won for Best Original Screenplay and Best Cinematography while the intense psychodrama “Black Swan” scored a Best Actress nod for Natalie Portman and was also cited for Best Original Score.

Among the other winners, Colin Firth was awarded Best Actor for his performance as King George VI in the British drama “The King’s Speech,” Christian Bale took Best Supporting Actor for his role as a former boxer turned crack addict in “The Fighter” and newcomer Hailee Steinfeld received the Best Supporting Actress prize for her debut screen performance in “True Grit.” The intense French prison drama “A Prophet” was named Best Foreign-Language Film, the oddball “Exit Through the Gift Shop” won for Best Documentary and “Toy Story 3” was awarded the prize for Best Animated Feature. Jennifer Lawrence was awarded Most Promising Performer for her work in the acclaimed indie drama “Winter’s Bone” and Derek Cianfrance received the Most Promising Filmmaker prize for “Blue Valentine.”

Best Picture: The Social Network
Best Director: David Fincher "The Social Network"
Best Actor: Colin Firth "The King's Speech"
Best Actress: Natalie Portman "Black Swan"
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale "The Fighter"
Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld "True Grit" 
Best Original Screenplay: Christopher Nolan "Inception"
Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin "The Social Network"
Best Foreign Language Film: A Prophet
Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3
Best Cinematography: Wally Pfister "Inception"
Best Original Score: Clint Mansell "Black Swan"
Most Promising Performer: Jennifer Lawrence "Winter's Bone"
Most Promising Filmmaker: Derek Cianfrance "Blue Valentine"