2013 Chicago Film Critics Awards PDF Print E-mail

2013 - Winners of the 24th Annual Chicago Film Critics Awards (in bold) - Announced Dec. 16

Best Picture

12 Years A Slave
American Hustle
Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Director

Joel & Ethan Coen--Inside Llewyn Davis
Alfonso Cuaron--Gravity
Spike Jonze--Her
Steve McQueen--12 Years A Slave
David O. Russell--American Hustle

Best Actor

Bruce Dern--Nebraska
Chiwetel Ejiofor--12 Years A Slave
Oscar Isaac--Inside Llewyn Davis
Matthew McConaughey--Dallas Buyers Club
Robert Redford--All Is Lost

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett--Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock--Gravity
Adele Exarchopoulos--Blue is the Warmest Color
Brie Larson--Short Term 12
Meryl Streep--August: Osage County

Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi--Captain Phillips
Michael Fassbender--12 Years A Slave
James Franco--Spring Breakers
James Gandolfini--Enough Said
Jared Leto--Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress

Scarlett Johansson--Her
Jennifer Lawrence--American Hustle
Lupita Nyong'o--12 Years A Slave
Lea Seydoux--Blue is the Warmest Color
June Squibb--Nebraska

Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle--Eric Singer & David O. Russell
Blue Jasmine--Woody Allen
Her--Spike Jonze
Inside Llewyn Davis--Joel & Ethan Coen
Nebraska--Bob Nelson

Best Adapted Screenplay

12 Years A Slave--John Ridley
August: Osage County--Tracey Letts
Before Midnight--Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke
Philomena--Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope
The Wolf of Wall Street--Terrence Winter

Best Foreign Language Film

The Act of Killing
Blue is the Warmest Color
The Hunt
The Wind Rises

Best Documentary

20 Feet from Stardom
The Act of Killing
The Armstrong Lie
Stories We Tell

Best Animated Feature

The Croods
From Up on Poppy Hill
Monsters University
The Wind Rises

Best Cinematography

12 Years A Slave--Sean Bobbitt
Gravity--Emmanuel Lubezki
Her--Hoyte Van Hoytema
Inside Llewyn Davis--Bruno Delbonnel
Prisoners--Roger Deakins

Best Original Score

12 Years A Slave--Hans Zimmer
Blancanieves--Alfonso de Vilallongo
Gravity--Steven Price
Her--Arcade Fire
Spring Breakers--Cliff Martinez and Skrillex

Best Art Direction/
Production Design

12 Years A Slave
The Great Gatsby
Inside Llewyn Davis

Best Editing

12 Years A Slave--Joe Walker
American Hustle--Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy & Crispin Struthers
Gravity--Alfonso Cuaron & Mark Sanger
Upstream Color--Shane Carruth & David Lowery
The Wolf of Wall Street--Thelma Schoonmaker

Most Promising Performer

Barkhad Abdi--Captain Phillips
Chadwick Boseman--42
Adele Exarchopoulos--Blue is the Warmest Color
Lupita Nyong'o--12 Years A Slave
Tye Sheridan--Mud

Most Promising Filmmaker

Lake Bell--In A World
Ryan Coogler--Fruitvale Station
Destin Cretton--Short Term 12
Joseph Gordon-Levitt--Don Jon
Joshua Oppenheimer--The Act of Killing