2009 Chicago Film Critics Awards PDF Print E-mail

2009 - Winners of the 22nd Annual Chicago Film Critics Awards (nominees below in alphabetical order)

Best Picture The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up in the Air
Where the Wild Things Are
Best Director Kathryn Bigelow (-) The Hurt Locker
Joel & Ethan Coen (-) A Serious Man
Spike Jonze (-) Where the Wild Things Are
Jason Reitman (-) Up in the Air
Quentin Tarantino (-) Inglourious Basterds
Best Actor Jeremy Renner (-) The Hurt Locker
Jeff Bridges (-) Crazy Heart
George Clooney (-) Up in the Air
Matt Damon (-) The Informant!
Michael Stuhlbarg (-) A Serious Man
Best Actress Carey Mulligan (-) An Education
Abbie Cornish (-) Bright Star
Maya Rudolph (-) Away We Go
Gabourey Sidibe (-) Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire
Meryl Streep (-) Julie & Julia
Best Supporting Actor Christoph Waltz (-) Inglourious Basterds
Peter Capaldi (-) In the Loop
Woody Harrelson (-) The Messenger
Christian McKay (-) Me and Orson Welles
Stanley Tucci (-) The Lovely Bones
Best Supporting Actress Mo'Nique (-) Precious
Vera Farmiga (-) Up in the Air
Anna Kendrick (-) Up in the Air
Julianne Moore (-) A Single Man
Natalie Portman (-) Brothers
Best Original Screenplay The Hurt Locker (-) Mark Boal
Away We Go (-) Dave Eggers & Vendela Vida
Inglourious Basterds (-) Quentin Tarantino
A Serious Man (-) Joel & Ethan Coen
Up (-) Bob Peterson
Best Adapted Screenplay Up in the Air (-) Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner
An Education (-) Nick Hornby
In the Loop (-) Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche
The Informant! (-) Scott Z. Burns
Where the Wild Things Are (-) Spike Jonze & Dave Eggers
Best Foreign Language Film The White Ribbon
Broken Embraces
Red Cliff
Sin Nombre
Summer Hours
Best Documentary Anvil! The Story of Anvil
Capitalism: A Love Story
The Cove
Food, Inc.
Best Animated Feature Up
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog
Best Cinematography The Hurt Locker (-) Barry Ackroyd
Avatar (-) Mauro Fiore
Bright Star (-) Greig Fraser
Inglourious Basterds (-) Robert Richardson
Where the Wild Things Are (-) Lance Acord
Best Original Score Up (-) Michael Giacchino
Avatar (-) James Horner
Fantastic Mr. Fox (-) Alexandre Desplat
The Informant! (-) Marvin Hamlisch
Where the Wild Things Are (-) Carter Burwell & Karen Orzolek
Most Promising Performer Carey Mulligan (-) An Education
Sharlto Copley (-) District 9
Christian McKay (-) Me and Orson Welles
Max Records (-) Where the Wild Things Are
Gabourey Sidibe (-) Precious
Most Promising Filmmaker Neill Blomkamp (-) District 9
Scott Cooper (-) Crazy Heart
Cary Fukunaga (-) Sin Nombre
Duncan Jones (-) Moon
Marc Webb (-) (500) Days of Summer